Source-linked public reporting

Kirksville public reporting hub

Public records, official reports and documented news leads—organized by what happened, what remains open and where the receipt came from.

Independent reporting—not a government website.

The Reporter consolidates and summarizes sources for public use. Each linked original remains the controlling record. A missing item means “not located or not yet indexed,” not “does not exist.”

Documented chronology

Latest additions

Entries retain their source class, originating body and publication date so readers can distinguish official records, reporting and editor notes.

Editor Note

Start here: how to use Kirksville Reporter

This Reporter edition is organized around four questions residents actually ask. 1) What happened? Look for council or government decision records: meetings, attendance, motions, outcomes and person-level votes only when the source names them. 2) Why are we still talking about this? Follow an issue across meetings, grants, contracts, construction, spending and later results. 3) Where did this information come from? Official government records, verified secondary reporting and unverified leads are kept in separate source lanes. 4) What is still missing? Records-needed notices identify the exact minutes, ordinance, contract, invoice, vote, permit or follow-up still required. A missing record is a research gap, not an accusation. The Reporter does not convert attendance into a vote, does not convert “unanimous” into named YES votes unless the source attributes them, and does not present a community claim as an official act without corroboration.

Source class
Not stated
Originating body
Greentop Reporter Network
No external source link supplied
Verified Fact

Current K-REDI network includes City, County, Ameren and AES

K-REDI’s current roster lists the City of Kirksville, Adair County Commission and Ameren Missouri as Platinum investors and AES as a Silver investor. Its board includes Kirksville Mayor Zac Burden, Mayor Pro Tem John Gardner, City Manager Mari Macomber, Community and Economic Development Director Ashley Young, Adair County Commissioner Bill King and Ameren Missouri representative Nate Geissmann. This is a verified present-day institutional overlap between local government and the companies behind High Prairie wind (Ameren) and Morris Solar (AES). Current membership does not prove the same memberships existed when either project was first approved or developed, and it does not by itself establish preferential treatment.

Source class
Official Website
Originating body
Kirksville Regional Economic Development, Inc.
Open source ↗
Editor Note

2018 reporting says Kirksville City Council submitted a statement supporting High Prairie

A contemporaneous Kirksville Daily Express report says a statement of support from the Kirksville City Council was entered into the Missouri Public Service Commission public-hearing record for High Prairie. A separate August 2018 report said the Council had agreed to vote on such a statement. Reporter is treating the existence of that support statement as a strong secondary-source finding while continuing to seek the City minutes, roll-call vote and PSC exhibit itself. Zac Burden was appointed to the Council sometime in August 2018, but the currently available records do not establish whether his appointment occurred before this particular action or whether he participated in it.

Source class
Local News
Originating body
Kirksville Daily Express (reposted by National Wind Watch)
Open source ↗
Verified Fact

Documented bridge: former Kirksville council member later led K-REDI during High Prairie wind advocacy

KBIA reported in December 2011 that Carolyn Chrisman was serving on the Kirksville City Council and had served on Planning and Zoning when K-REDI hired her to lead the economic-development organization; she said she would step down from the council and school board for that role. By 2018-2020, Chrisman was publicly representing K-REDI in support of the High Prairie wind project and later described the project as a major regional economic-development achievement. This establishes a documented past-city-government → K-REDI → wind-project advocacy continuity. It does not establish that Chrisman or another City official personally profited from the project.

Source class
Local News
Originating body
KBIA
Open source ↗
Verified Fact

South Highway 63 TIF: $448,500 developer reimbursement documented by 2022

Missouri State Auditor’s 2022 report identifies Kirksville Mall LLC / Art King as the private developer/contact and reports $716,081 in cumulative Economic Activity Taxes, $4,856 in PILOT revenue, $204,300 in public-infrastructure expenditures, $70,391 in other costs, and $448,500 in cumulative reimbursement of the developer for eligible costs. The report lists $7,053,736 in anticipated TIF-reimbursable project costs. This is documented local TIF financing; Reporter has not found an indexed direct federal grant paid to Kirksville Mall LLC under that exact entity name.

Source class
Official Website
Originating body
Missouri State Auditor
Open source ↗
Editor Note

Kirksville Mall LLC was already part of a Raul Walters shopping-center litigation portfolio before the 2009 TIF

A 2008 federal court docket lists Kirksville Mall LLC as a plaintiff alongside Raul Walters Properties LLC and numerous other shopping-center entities. The City did not approve the South Highway 63 TIF until July 20, 2009. This establishes that Kirksville Mall LLC existed before the TIF and was operating within a documented Raul Walters property-company network. The docket does not, by itself, establish the exact LLC membership percentages, deed ownership, or parent-subsidiary structure; those remain deed/SOS-record questions.

Source class
Court Record
Originating body
U.S. District Court / Justia docket index
Open source ↗
Verified Fact

Art King is the Raul Walters Properties executive identified on Kirksville’s TIF reports

Raul Walters Properties identifies Arthur King as its President and CEO, responsible for strategic planning involving commercial real-estate development, acquisition and sales and for Walters family business succession. Missouri State Auditor TIF reports separately identify Art King as the contact person for private developer Kirksville Mall LLC. Together, those records provide a documented management connection; they do not yet reveal Kirksville Mall LLC’s exact beneficial ownership.

Source class
Official Website
Originating body
Raul Walters Properties
Open source ↗
Editor Note

North Baltimore received a $2.035 million corridor project; that is not the same as a payment to Kirksville Commons

MoDOT awarded a $2,035,102 contract to S&A Equipment & Builders for a Governor’s Cost-Share corridor project on Business 63 / North Baltimore, including a center turn lane, resurfacing and related work. MoDOT said the area had experienced substantial economic growth and increased commercial traffic. This publicly funded infrastructure can benefit nearby businesses, including the broader Kirksville Commons corridor, but Reporter has not found evidence that this $2.035 million was paid to BZMO Center, LC or a Kirksville Commons ownership entity.

Source class
State Agency Release
Originating body
Missouri Department of Transportation
Open source ↗
Editor Note

Kirksville Commons 2023 offering shows leveraged holding through two assumable loans

A 2023 LoopNet investment offering for 2301 N Baltimore, part of Kirksville Commons, advertised two assumable loans and described the center as built in 2018 with a 32,000-square-foot expansion in 2022. This is evidence that the property was being held with debt at the time of the offering, but the listing does not disclose enough to establish the lenders, original loan principal, current balance, borrower entity, or purchase price. Recorded deeds of trust remain necessary.

Source class
Secondary Reporting
Originating body
LoopNet
Open source ↗
Verified Fact

BZMO Center, LC is documented as a Kirksville Commons landlord in 2021

Pace Properties reported that Five Below leased 8,920 square feet at Kirksville Commons from BZMO Center, LC in December 2021. This establishes BZMO as a landlord/property-holding entity connected with at least that lease. It does not establish BZMO’s beneficial owners, the original land seller, acquisition price, or all parcels held by the entity. Those require Missouri business filings and Adair County deeds.

Source class
Secondary Reporting
Originating body
Pace Properties
Open source ↗
Verified Fact

K-REDI investor program explicitly includes business promotion among investor benefits

K-REDI’s official investor-program brochure lists benefits that include organizational listing and recognition, board participation tied to membership level, and promotion of an investor’s business to local industries and new companies. K-REDI’s bylaws separately establish financial membership tiers and allow qualifying Platinum investors to appoint a board representative. These records do not show that an investor received a City contract or incentive because of membership. They do establish a reason to compare K-REDI investor status against public contracts, referrals, incentives, land transactions and financing so any correlation can be tested rather than assumed.

Source class
Official Website
Originating body
Kirksville Regional Economic Development, Inc.
Open source ↗
Verified Fact

South Highway 63 TIF: developer reimbursements and job outcomes are now traceable in state records

Missouri State Auditor records identify Kirksville Mall LLC, with Art King listed as the private-sector contact, as developer of the South Highway 63 TIF. The 2022 annual report records $716,081 in economic-activity taxes received since inception, $448,500 reimbursed to the developer for eligible costs, and $7,053,736 in anticipated TIF-reimbursable project costs. It reports 14 actual new jobs compared with 5 estimated, but 6 actual retained jobs compared with 87 estimated. Those figures do not by themselves establish whether the TIF succeeded or failed because definitions and later-year results matter; they do show why promised-versus-actual jobs, reimbursements and tax capture should be tracked year by year.

Source class
Official Website
Originating body
Missouri State Auditor
Open source ↗
Review all 48 timeline records →

Track every move

Development watch

Local, county and statewide decisions that may affect this community, with the current stage, next action and source receipt kept together.

Other

Missouri is revising baseline industrial-stormwater permit conditions — comments due Aug. 30

Missouri DNR has published draft Standard Conditions Part 4 for NPDES permits addressing industrial stormwater requirements. DNR says standard conditions are minimum conditions applicable to NPDES permits unless superseded by permit-specific requirements or not relevant to the facility. The proposal incorporates Missouri and federal industrial-stormwater requirements and remains tentative during the public-comment period through Aug. 30, 2026. This is statewide permit-policy context, not evidence that a specific Greentop business or proposed project is violating stormwater rules.

Area
Missouri — statewide industrial stormwater policy
Decision stage
draft standard conditions — public comment
Next dated action
Aug 30, 2026
What to watch next

Review the draft and submit water-quality comments by 5 p.m. Aug. 30, 2026 if relevant. When evaluating a specific industrial development later, use the actual permit and site-specific stormwater requirements rather than assuming the statewide draft alone governs every activity.

Verification notes

Official Missouri DNR public notice. Standard Conditions Part 4 concerns industrial stormwater NPDES permits generally; the Reporter should link it to specific projects only when a project-specific permit or applicability record exists.

Open primary receipt ↗
Other

MoDOT awarded $807,191 for three Adair County resurfacing segments around Kirksville

The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission awarded W. L. Miller Company an $807,191 resurfacing contract for Route H from LaHarpe Street to Missouri Route 11 in Kirksville, Route P from Business Route 63 to U.S. Route 63, and Route P from 0.3 mile east of U.S. Route 63 to Bass Way near Kirksville. MoDOT identifies the projects as part of the Governor’s Rural Roads Program funded through fiscal-year 2026 state general revenue.

Area
Kirksville and Adair County, Missouri
Decision stage
contract awarded; 2026 construction program
Next dated action
Date not stated in the source
What to watch next

Track construction dates, traffic impacts and final completion/cost records for the three segments. Do not report the $807,191 as the cost of any one segment because it is the combined contract amount.

Verification notes

Official MoDOT contract award. Combined contract amount applies to all three listed Adair County segments.

Open primary receipt ↗
Data Center

Missouri PSC adopts large-load protections intended to keep data-center costs with large customers

The Missouri Public Service Commission says Ameren Missouri and Evergy have approved large-load tariffs covering customers such as data centers. The PSC describes protections including long minimum service contracts, financial-security requirements, exit fees, minimum monthly billing and cost-stabilization recovery intended to prevent unjust or unreasonable large-load costs from shifting to residential and commercial customers. The PSC states Liberty’s large-load tariff case remains in progress.

Area
Missouri
Decision stage
Ameren and Evergy tariffs approved; Liberty case pending
Next dated action
Date not stated in the source
What to watch next

Use the applicable PSC tariff and utility-service territory when evaluating any proposed data center; continue watching the Liberty proceeding and future tariff revisions.

Verification notes

Official Missouri PSC source. This establishes statewide regulated-utility rate protections; it does not prove that any specific northeast Missouri data-center project exists.

Open primary receipt ↗
Other

Missouri impaired-waters methodology public comment closes Aug. 14, 2026

Missouri DNR’s public comment period on the draft 2028 Section 303(d) Listing Methodology runs through Aug. 14, 2026. The methodology governs how DNR evaluates available data when deciding which Missouri waters are listed as impaired under the federal Clean Water Act. This is a statewide methodology process, not a finding that a particular Greentop or Schuyler County waterbody is impaired.

Area
Missouri — statewide water-quality policy
Decision stage
public comment closes Aug. 14, 2026
Next dated action
Aug 14, 2026
What to watch next

Submit written comments to Missouri DNR by the Aug. 14, 2026 deadline if the methodology affects a water-quality concern; then watch for Clean Water Commission consideration.

Verification notes

Official Missouri DNR public notice. Kept separate from local impairment claims because the notice concerns methodology statewide.

Open primary receipt ↗
Review all 7 development files →